Best multimeter for resistance and continuity

Best multimeter for resistance and continuity

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Choosing the best multimeter for resistance and continuity starts with three facts a listing should state: an ohms range, a continuity beep and a safety rating that suits the circuit. This guide compares six listings from the research set that name resistance or continuity, and it sets out what each listing leaves unsaid. It covers low-voltage checks only, such as a fuse, a switch contact or a wire run that has been de-energized.

Safety first

Work on mains circuits can kill. Before you test any outlet, panel or service wiring, confirm that the meter’s CAT rating suits that circuit. Three of the six listings below state a CAT rating, and the other three state none, so a missing rating means you should not use that meter on mains. Panel and service work belongs to a licensed electrician.

Resistance and continuity checks are low-voltage tasks only when the circuit is powered off and disconnected from its source. The steps later in this guide assume that condition. None of the meters here is presented as safe for household mains.

Quick answer

  • Choose the AstroAI AST-6000-D listing if you want the widest stated resistance range in this set, up to 60 MΩ, and a CAT III 600V line.
  • Choose the AstroAI AM33D listing if you want a compact meter with a continuity buzzer, a 20 MΩ top resistance range and a CAT II 600 V line.
  • Look at the ANENG SZ301 listing only after you accept that it states no CAT rating. It lists resistance up to 200 MΩ.
  • Treat the Klein CL120VP kit as a clamp kit. Its listing names resistance and continuity through test leads, but it gives no range and no CAT rating.

What a resistance and continuity check does

Continuity tells you whether a path for current is complete. A digital multimeter in continuity mode gives an audible beep when it finds a complete path, so you can keep your eyes on the probes. Fluke’s continuity guide adds that the beep depends on the range setting, not only on the component. On a 400 Ω range, a meter typically beeps at 40 Ω or less, and the threshold differs by model.

Resistance is the number you read on the ohms range. Fluke’s resistance guide says that for very low readings you should use the relative mode, which subtracts the resistance of the test leads. It puts that lead resistance at about 0.2 Ω to 0.5 Ω. Short the leads together and a correct meter should read close to 0 Ω, so that check belongs at the start of every session.

For a fuse, the logic is simple. A beep, or a low reading near zero, means the fuse conducts. No beep, or an open reading, means the fuse is blown. Fluke’s fuse guide makes the same point and tells you to power off the circuit first.

Comparison table

The table uses only what each listing states. A blank cell means the listing does not give the figure.

Listing Resistance ranges stated Continuity CAT or safety line Counts Included
AstroAI AM33D 200 Ω, 2 kΩ, 20 kΩ, 200 kΩ, 20 MΩ Continuity buzzer CAT II 600 V; CAT III 300 V 2000 Two test leads, 9 V battery, user manual
AstroAI AST-6000-D 600 Ω, 6 kΩ, 60 kΩ, 600 kΩ, 6 MΩ, 60 MΩ Continuity listed CAT III 600V; CAT II 1000V 6000 in title Pair of test leads, 9 V battery, multi-function socket, user manual
AstroAI CM2K0R clamp 200 Ω, 2 kΩ, 20 kΩ, 200 kΩ, 2 MΩ, 20 MΩ Continuity buzzer CAT III 600V; pollution level 2 2000 Clamp meter, test leads pair, user manual, storage bag
Klein CL120VP kit Not stated Continuity through test leads Not stated Not stated Clamp meter, receptacle tester, non-contact voltage tester, voltage meter, test leads, pouch, batteries
ANENG SZ301 0 Ω to 200 MΩ Continuity listed Not stated 2000 Silicone case and two cable leads per the bullets
LJPXHHU XL830L Not stated Audible continuity sensor Not stated 2000 in title Test leads, 9 V battery, user manual per the bullets

Reading the ranges

The top resistance range is the first number to compare, and the listings do not agree on it. The AM33D tops out at 20 MΩ. The CM2K0R clamp also tops out at 20 MΩ. The AST-6000-D goes to 60 MΩ, which is three times the AM33D’s top range (60 ÷ 20 = 3). The ANENG listing states 200 MΩ, which is ten times the AM33D’s top range (200 ÷ 20 = 10).

A higher top range does not make a meter better for a small job. A fuse or a short wire run reads near zero, and the range you need is the lowest one. What a wide top range buys you is coverage for high-resistance checks, such as insulation on a dry component, and you should only make those checks on de-energized parts that the listing and your own procedure allow.

Counts follow a similar logic. The AST-6000-D’s 6000 counts give three times the resolution steps of the 2000-count meters (6000 ÷ 2000 = 3). Counts describe the display steps, not accuracy. The AM33D resistance line gives ±(1.0%+3) on its 200 Ω range and ±(1.5%+3) on its 20 MΩ range, and the ANENG resistance line gives ±(4.0%+10), so the ANENG accuracy figure is wider.

Picks

1. AstroAI Digital Multimeter, True RMS 6000 Counts Auto-Ranging Volt Meter for Automotive & Home (Widest stated range: 60 MΩ top, CAT III 600V)

Pros

  • The listing states resistance ranges up to 60 MΩ
  • The listing names continuity and diode checks
  • The listing states auto or manual range selection and true RMS
  • The listing names two ceramic fuses, F400mA/600V and F10A/600V

Cons

  • The listing shows 6000 counts in the title and 5999 on the display line
  • The listing gives two different weights, 492 g and about 357 g

Best for: A larger meter for resistance and continuity checks on de-energized low-voltage parts, when you want a wider range than a 20 MΩ meter
Skip if: You need a pocket meter, or a clamp for current

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. AstroAI Digital Multimeter Tester 2000 Counts with DC AC Voltmeter and Ohm Volt Amp Meter; Measures (Compact meter with a continuity buzzer and CAT II 600 V)

Pros

  • The listing names a continuity buzzer
  • The listing states resistance ranges up to 20 MΩ
  • The listing states CAT II 600 V and a second CAT line for 300 V
  • The listing includes two test leads, a 9 V battery and a user manual

Cons

  • The listing gives sample speed as three per second in one place and two in a bullet
  • The listing states two 1.5 V AAA batteries for power, yet includes a 9 V battery

Best for: Basic low-voltage resistance and continuity checks in a compact meter
Skip if: You need a resistance range above 20 MΩ, or a CAT III 600 V line

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. AstroAI Digital Clamp Meter Multimeter 2000 Counts Amp Voltage Tester Auto-ranging with AC/DC (Clamp meter with resistance and continuity through the leads)

Pros

  • The listing states resistance ranges from 200 Ω to 20 MΩ
  • The listing names a continuity buzzer and non-contact voltage detection
  • The listing states CAT III 600V and pollution degree 2
  • The listing says two 1.5V AAA batteries are included

Cons

  • The listing says the meter cannot test DC current
  • The listing says the clamp jaw is for current only and warns against clamping to measure voltage

Best for: AC current checks with a clamp, plus resistance and continuity through the test leads
Skip if: You need DC current, or a meter for resistance and continuity only

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Klein Tools CL120VP Electrical Voltage Test Kit with Clamp Meter (Kit with clamp, receptacle tester and voltage tools)

Pros

  • The listing says resistance and continuity are read through the test leads
  • The listing names auto-ranging and a test lead holder on the clamp
  • The listing names a receptacle tester, a non-contact detector and a voltage meter in the kit

Cons

  • The listing gives no resistance range, no counts and no CAT rating
  • The listing says to see the manufacturer's website for the warranty

Best for: A single kit that holds a clamp meter and several voltage tools
Skip if: You need a resistance range, a counts figure or a CAT rating before you buy

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. ANENG Digital Multimeter with Case,DC AC Voltmeter,Ohm Volt Amp Meter (Handheld meter with wide stated resistance range)

Pros

  • The listing states resistance from 0 Ω to 200 MΩ
  • The listing states 2000 counts and continuity and diode checks
  • The listing names auto shut-down, NCV sensing and double fuses in its bullets

Cons

  • The listing gives resistance accuracy of ±(4.0%+10), a wider figure than the AstroAI meters
  • The listing states no CAT rating and no warranty

Best for: A handheld meter with a wide stated resistance range and a continuity function, checked against the manual before use
Skip if: You need a stated CAT rating, or accuracy better than ±4%

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Digital Multimeter Voltmeter Battery Voltage Multi Tester Continuity Ohm Volt Amp DC AC Current (Basic handheld meter with audible continuity sensor)

Pros

  • The listing names an audible continuity sensor
  • The listing names data hold and a backlit display
  • The listing states overload protection on all ranges and a low battery indication
  • The bullets state a 9 V battery and a set of test leads are included

Cons

  • The listing gives no resistance range and no accuracy figure
  • The listing states no CAT rating

Best for: Simple continuity checks on de-energized wiring with a backlit handheld meter
Skip if: You need a stated resistance range, accuracy or CAT rating

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

AstroAI AM33D

Best for a compact pocket meter for basic low-voltage resistance and continuity checks, such as a blown fuse or a switch contact on a circuit you have already de-energized.

The listing states a continuity buzzer, data hold, a backlit display and a double fuse on the current ranges. It gives resistance ranges up to 20 MΩ and a CAT II 600 V line, plus a second CAT line for 300 V. Its included items are two test leads, a 9 V battery and a user manual.

The limits are in the listing. It gives a sample speed of three readings per second in one place and two in a bullet. Its power line says two 1.5 V AAA batteries, yet the package includes a 9 V battery. The bullets also say the meter cannot test all AC current or AC voltage below 100 mV.

Skip it if you need a top resistance range above 20 MΩ, or a CAT III 600 V line.

AstroAI AST-6000-D

Best for a larger meter with auto or manual ranging, true RMS and resistance ranges up to 60 MΩ, when you want more counts and a wider range than the AM33D.

The listing names auto or manual range selection, true RMS, data hold, a backlit screen and a kickstand. It lists continuity and diode checks, and it names two ceramic fuses, F400mA/600V and F10A/600V. Its compliance line reads CAT III 600V and CAT II 1000V.

The limits are in the listing too. The title says 6000 counts, but the display line reads 5999. The listing gives two weights, 492 g and about 357 g. The bullets also advise removing the cap from the test leads before use.

Skip it if you need a pocket meter, or if you need a clamp for current.

AstroAI CM2K0R clamp meter

Best for AC current checks with a clamp, plus resistance and continuity through the test leads, on a circuit you have already confirmed is safe to clamp.

The listing gives resistance ranges from 200 Ω to 20 MΩ, a continuity buzzer, non-contact voltage detection with a sound and light alarm, and a CAT III 600V line with pollution degree 2. It says two 1.5 V AAA batteries are included.

The limits matter more for a clamp. The bullets state the meter cannot test DC current. The clamp jaw is for current only, and the listing warns not to measure voltage by clamping a conductor. Its AC current ranges run from 2 A to 400 A.

Skip it if you need DC current, or if you only want a meter for resistance and continuity.

Klein Tools CL120VP electrical voltage test kit

Best for a single pouch that holds a clamp meter, a receptacle tester, a non-contact voltage detector and a voltage meter, when you want a set rather than one meter.

The listing says the clamp measures AC current, and that AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity are read through the test leads. It names auto-ranging, a test lead holder on the clamp and an optional magnetic hanger. The kit also names the RT210 receptacle tester and the NCVT3P non-contact detector.

The limits are the gaps in the listing. It gives no resistance range, no counts and no CAT rating. The warranty line says to see the manufacturer’s website. The receptacle tester is an outlet tool, which this guide does not cover with steps.

Skip it if you need a resistance range, a counts figure or a CAT rating before you buy.

ANENG SZ301

Best for a handheld meter with a wide stated resistance range and a continuity function, when you accept that the listing states no CAT rating and you will check the manual before use.

The listing states resistance from 0 Ω to 200 MΩ, 2000 counts, diode and continuity checks, auto shut-down, NCV sensing and a battery test for 12 V, 9 V and 7.5 V cells. Its bullets say the meter has double fuses and overload protection.

The limits are real. The resistance accuracy is ±(4.0%+10), which is wider than the AstroAI figures. The listing gives no CAT rating and no warranty. Its included components field is blank, so the bullets are the only source for the leads and case. Some resistance resolution figures in the specifications run from 0.1 Ω to 100 kΩ, which reads oddly against the 200 MΩ range, so confirm them in the manual.

Skip it if you need a stated CAT rating, or accuracy better than ±4%.

LJPXHHU XL830L

Best for a basic handheld meter with an audible continuity sensor and a backlit display, for simple checks on wiring that is de-energized.

The listing names an audible continuity sensor, data hold, a 2.7-inch backlit LCD, a fold-out stand and a removable rubber cover. Its bullets say the meter has overload protection on all ranges and a low battery indication. It says a 9 V battery and a set of test leads are included, and the bullets describe a two-year guarantee against faulty materials and workmanship.

The limits are the missing figures. The listing gives no resistance range, no accuracy figure and no CAT rating. The title says 2000 counts, but the specifications do not repeat it.

Skip it if you need a stated resistance range, accuracy or CAT rating.

Listings not featured

Six of the twelve records were not featured.

  • The Supco M500 and the YUKGAMS M500 are megohmmeters for insulation testing at 500 V. They fall outside the low-voltage checks this guide covers.
  • The FNIRSI DMC-100 is a 600 A clamp meter with recording and a 2-inch display. Its bullets name continuity and resistance, and its compliance line names UL 61010-1, but the listing states no CAT rating.
  • The Klein ET920 is a USB power meter. It is not a general resistance or continuity meter.
  • The Innova 3340 is an automotive meter. The listing states no resistance range.
  • The Signstek MESR-100 V2 is an ESR and low-ohm meter for capacitors, not a general continuity tester.

How we chose

The research set holds twelve listings read on 24 October 2026. Each was tested against three checks, and the check was on the listing text only. First, the listing names a resistance or continuity function in its title, bullets or specifications. Second, the product is a handheld or clamp meter suited to low-voltage checks. Third, the listing gives enough text to quote. Six listings passed. The featured order is not a ranking. No listing was added from outside the research set.

Steps for a low-voltage check

These steps cover resistance and continuity on de-energized parts. They do not cover mains outlets, panels or service wiring.

  1. Power off the circuit and disconnect it from its source. Fluke’s fuse guide says to make sure the circuit is powered off and disconnected before any electrical testing.
  2. Discharge any capacitor in the circuit before you take a resistance reading. Fluke’s resistance guide gives this rule.
  3. Check the meter first. Touch the two probes together. A continuity beep and a reading near 0 Ω confirm the meter works, as Fluke’s fuse and resistance guides both describe.
  4. For a low reading, use the relative mode. It subtracts the test lead resistance, which Fluke puts at about 0.2 Ω to 0.5 Ω.
  5. Connect the leads across the part with the circuit de-energized. A beep means a complete path. No beep means an open circuit.
  6. Note the range you used. On a 400 Ω range, a meter typically beeps at 40 Ω or less, according to Fluke’s continuity guide.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Testing a powered circuit in resistance or continuity mode. The fuse guide and the continuity guide both say the circuit must be de-energized first.
  • Reading an open result as a fault before you have checked the meter with the probes touching.
  • Assuming a beep threshold. None of the six listings states one, and the threshold depends on the range.
  • Confusing the 20 MΩ top of the AM33D and CM2K0R with the 60 MΩ top of the AST-6000-D, or the 200 MΩ figure on the ANENG listing.
  • Clamping a conductor to measure voltage on the CM2K0R, which its listing says not to do.

Buying checklist

  • A stated resistance range with a top value, and the lowest range you need.
  • A continuity buzzer named in the listing.
  • A CAT rating line that suits the circuit, or a clear note that the listing states none.
  • Counts and an accuracy figure.
  • The leads and batteries included, and whether they match the meter.
  • A warranty line, or a note that the listing states none.

For the basics of continuity, see how to use a continuity tester and voltmeter continuity test. For general meter choices beyond this set, see best hand held digital multimeter.

What we could not verify

  • A beep threshold for any of the six meters. No listing states one, and Fluke’s guide notes the threshold changes with range and model.
  • Accuracy for the Klein kit, the LJPXHHU and the CM2K0R counts. The AM33D and AST-6000-D give ± figures only for some ranges.
  • CAT ratings for three listings. The Klein kit, the ANENG and the LJPXHHU state none.
  • Warranty for three listings. The Klein kit points to the manufacturer’s website, and the ANENG and CM2K0R state none.
  • Fuse ratings for the CM2K0R and the Klein kit. The listings state none.
  • The AM33D sample speed, which the listing gives as three readings per second in one place and two in a bullet.
  • The AM33D power source, which the listing gives as two 1.5 V AAA batteries alongside a 9 V battery in the package.
  • The AST-6000-D weight and count, which the listing gives two ways each.
  • The ANENG resistance resolution figures, which read oddly against its 200 MΩ range.
  • Whether any listed meter suits a particular automotive or household task. The listings describe use but do not test it.

FAQ

Can a multimeter check a fuse for continuity?

Yes, on a fuse that is out of the circuit or on a circuit that is powered off. Fluke’s fuse guide says a beep means the fuse is good, and no beep means it is blown. Check the meter with the probes touching first. None of the six listings says it checks fuses by name, so read the continuity or resistance line.

Which listing has the widest resistance range?

The ANENG SZ301 listing states 0 Ω to 200 MΩ, and the AST-6000-D states up to 60 MΩ. The AM33D and CM2K0R state up to 20 MΩ. A wider top range does not change how a small continuity check reads, because the low range is the one you use for a fuse or a wire.

Does any listing give a beep threshold?

No. Fluke’s continuity guide says a beep depends on the range and the model, so check your meter’s manual before you rely on a specific number.

Are these meters safe for household mains?

No listing here is presented as safe for household mains. Three state a CAT rating, and the other three state none. A CAT rating does not make a meter suitable for live outlet, panel or service work, and that work belongs to a licensed electrician.

Can a clamp meter measure DC current?

Not the CM2K0R. Its listing says it cannot test DC current. The Klein kit clamp is described for AC current, so check its manual before you assume DC capability.

Do I need a clamp meter for continuity?

No. Continuity and resistance are read through the test leads on the meters in this set. The clamp models add current measurement, which is a separate task.

Bottom line

Pick the meter whose listing states the resistance range, the continuity beep and a CAT rating that suits your circuit. If one of those is missing, the listing does not give you enough to decide, so check the manual or ask the seller before you test. Power off the circuit before any check, and leave mains and panel work to a licensed electrician.

Sources

  • https://www.fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/digital-multimeters/how-to-measure-resistance
  • https://www.fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/digital-multimeters/how-to-test-for-continuity
  • https://www.fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/digital-multimeters/how-to-check-fuse-with-multimeter

Similar Posts