iCRIMP vs Plustool Crimpers: Specs Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
This comparison sets iCRIMP crimping and pressing tools against a Plustool heat-shrink crimper. The iCRIMP side is five listings, covering PEX clamp kits, copper press and crimp tools, a hose crimper kit and a ratchet wire crimping set. The Plustool side is a single listing, so this comparison says less about that brand than about the iCRIMP range. Each entry reports what its listing states for size range, included parts and materials, with the date it was checked.
Crimping and pressing tools put force on fittings and terminals. Match the listed size range to your fitting or wire, follow the listing’s and the manufacturer’s instructions, and check the standard the listing names before you use a tool on a pressurized line.
Quick answer
Match the tool to the fitting. For PEX clamps, the iCRIMP kit with clamps and a cutter covers 3/8 inch to 1 inch. For copper rings and copper press fittings, the two iCRIMP copper tools cover different sizes. For wire terminals, the Plustool covers AWG 26 to 10 and the iCRIMP ratchet set covers AWG 20 to 2. Check the size chart on the product page before ordering, because several listings give conflicting dimensions.
Comparison table
| Pick | Brand as listed | Size or range stated | Included parts stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| iCRIMP PEX Crimping Tool Kit (cinch and remove) | iCRIMP | PEX 3/8 inch to 1 inch | Cinch and remove tool, PEX cutter, 20 clamps at 1/2 inch, 10 clamps at 3/4 inch |
| Plustool Crimping Tool for Heat Shrink Connectors | Plustool | AWG 26 to 10 | Crimper only |
| iCrimp PEX Pipe Crimping Tool Kit, copper rings | iCRIMP | 1-1/4, 1-1/2 and 2 inch copper rings | Not stated (spec field reads “no”) |
| iCrimp Heavy Duty Air Hose Crimper Kit | iCRIMP | 19/32 inch to 25/32 inch ID ferrules | Seven jaws, cutter, plastic case |
| iCrimp Copper Pipe Press Tool | iCRIMP | 1/2 inch, 3/4 inch and 1 inch fittings | Manual wrench and electric socket adapter, cutter |
| iCrimp Ratchet Crimping Tool Set | iCRIMP title; IWISS brand field | AWG 20 to 2 | Ratchet crimper, wire cutter and stripper, six quick-exchange jaws, case |
How the comparison was built
The keyword names two brands, and the data holds six listings. The iCRIMP side has five listings, and the Plustool side has one. The title is kept because five listings name iCRIMP and one names Plustool, so both brands appear in the product set. Figures are limited to the listing fields and bullets, and the page does not verify the tools against the stated standards.
Product picks and who each one fits
1. iCRIMP PEX Crimping Tool Kit with Clamps, Cinch and Removal Tool
Listing figures (checked 2026-10-12):
- Brand: iCRIMP. Manufacturer: IWISS Tools. Model: Crimp-Cut-Clamp Kit (Boxed). Color: red.
- Size: 11.02 inches long and 3.74 inches wide. Handle: polypropylene with an ergonomic grip.
- Bullets say the tool meets ASTM 2098 and works with stainless clamps from any manufacturer for PEX connections from 3/8 inch to 1 inch.
- The cinch and remove tool can also cinch a single ear hose clamp, provided the ear fits the jaw opening.
- Included: one cinch and remove tool, one PEX cutter, 20 clamps at 1/2 inch and 10 clamps at 3/4 inch. The number-of-items field reads 32, which matches that count.
Best for: a plumber who wants the crimp, removal and cutting tools in one boxed set for 3/8 inch to 1 inch PEX.
Check before buying: the listing gives no tool weight, and the clamp sizes are limited to two diameters.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Plustool Crimping Tool for Heat Shrink Connectors AWG 26 to 10
Listing figures (checked 2026-10-12):
- Brand: Plustool. Model: K-BM-104-US. Color: red and black. Weight: 0.59 kg. Size: 9.76 inches long and 3.94 inches wide.
- Designed for heat shrink connectors in AWG 26 to 10, with a ratcheting cycle that releases on its own.
- A built-in quick-release lever opens the jaws in any position, and a star wheel adjusts the crimp height.
- Bullets name home appliance repair, vehicle circuit connections and general circuit connection as uses.
- The listing states the crimp does not damage the heat shrink insulation.
Best for: heat shrink terminal work in the AWG 26 to 10 range, where an adjustable crimp height helps.
Check before buying: the listing names only heat shrink connectors, so confirm the terminal type matches your job before buying.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. iCrimp PEX Pipe Crimping Tool Kit for Copper Rings
Listing figures (checked 2026-10-18):
- Brand: iCRIMP. Manufacturer: IWISS Tools. Model: IWS-1807CF. Color: blue.
- Specification met: ASTM F1807. Use: PEX pipe crimping on 1-1/4 inch, 1-1/2 inch and 2 inch copper rings.
- Bullets say the grips are slip-proof and the two-handed design is stable, and the tool adapts to manual wrenches and electric sockets.
- Conflict on size: the item dimensions field reads 13.11 inches by 4 inches, while the size field reads 8 inches by 19 inches.
- Included components field reads “no”, so the listing states no kit contents.
Best for: copper-ring crimps in the 1-1/4 inch to 2 inch range for residential, commercial and water supply work.
Check before buying: the conflicting size fields and the missing contents list mean the kit should be confirmed on the product page before purchase.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. iCrimp Heavy Duty Air Hose Crimper Kit
Listing figures (checked 2026-10-18):
- Brand: iCRIMP. Manufacturer: IWISS Tools. Model: IWS-HC. Number of items: 7. Handle material: carbon steel with an ergonomic grip.
- Seven jaws fit ferrules from 19/32 inch to 25/32 inch, in steps including 5/8, 21/32, 11/16, 23/32 and 3/4 inch.
- Bullets describe hardened steel with an electroplated finish, and a cutter in a plastic case for on-site use.
- Applications named: rubber, air and torch hoses, for automotive repair and hose maintenance.
- The bullets describe the kit as a top pick for welders and DIYers, which is marketing language rather than a listed spec.
Best for: crimping air, rubber and torch hose ferrules across seven sizes in one kit.
Check before buying: the listing does not state a jaw cycle or a force rating.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. iCrimp Copper Pipe Press Tool for 1/2 inch, 3/4 inch and 1 inch Fittings
Listing figures (checked 2026-10-18):
- Brand: iCRIMP. Manufacturer: IWISS Tools. Model: CA-IWS-1632CF. Set name: ProPress. Color: chrome.
- Size: 1/2 inch, 3/4 inch and 1 inch. Cutting width: 1.25 inches.
- Bullets describe a precision cutter for tubing from 1/8 inch to 1-1/4 inch outside diameter.
- Bullets name compatibility with Viega ProPress, Nibco and Elkhart fittings.
- Adapts to a manual wrench or an electric socket, with rubberized grips and a carbon steel handle.
Best for: copper press connections in 1/2 inch to 1 inch sizes, for plumbing, HVAC and construction crews.
Check before buying: the listing states no press cycle count or included items, so confirm the included parts before ordering.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. iCrimp Ratchet Crimping Tool Set with PM Quick Change Jaws, AWG 20 to 2
Listing figures (checked 2026-10-18):
- Brand field reads IWISS, while the title uses iCrimp. Manufacturer: IWISS Tools. Model: PM Quick Exchange Jaw Kit. Set name: 8-piece.
- Kit: one ratcheting crimper, one wire cutter and stripper, and six quick-exchange jaws in a storage case.
- Range: AWG 20 to 2, covering insulated and non-insulated ferrules, heat-shrink, open-barrel and OT/UT lugs.
- Push-pin jaw release for changing dies without tools. The bullets say a swap takes about 3 seconds.
- Bullets state the jaws are powder-metallurgy steel with 30 percent higher wear resistance, and an ergonomic TPR handle.
Best for: mixed terminal jobs in automotive, marine, solar and home wiring that need one tool for a wide gauge range.
Check before buying: the listing’s 50,000-cycle claim is a manufacturer statement, so treat it as unverified.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
Worked example: comparing the wire and fitting ranges
The Plustool lists AWG 26 to 10, and the iCRIMP ratchet set lists AWG 20 to 2. The overlap runs from AWG 20 to AWG 10. The Plustool reaches the finer AWG 26 end that the iCRIMP set does not state, and the iCRIMP set reaches the heavier AWG 2 end that the Plustool does not state. A terminal in the AWG 20 to 10 band fits either tool on the listed range, while an AWG 26 terminal fits only the Plustool.
Plumbing sizes do not overlap in the same way. The PEX kit lists 3/8 inch to 1 inch, the copper press tool lists 1/2 inch, 3/4 inch and 1 inch, and the copper ring kit lists 1-1/4 inch, 1-1/2 inch and 2 inch. The press tool and PEX kit both reach 1 inch, but they work on different fitting systems, so the shared size does not mean one tool replaces the other.
Weight is a separate figure. The Plustool lists 0.59 kg, which is about 1.3 pounds. The PEX kit and the copper press tool list no weight, so their handling cannot be compared from the listings.
What the listings do not say
- The Plustool is the only Plustool listing in the set, so no second product confirms its range.
- The copper ring kit gives two size fields that conflict, and its included components field reads “no”.
- The ratchet set’s brand field reads IWISS while its title uses iCrimp.
- The PEX kit does not state a standard for the cinch tool beyond the ASTM 2098 reference in its bullets.
- No listing gives a crimp force or a press cycle count.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Plustool crimper meant for PEX or copper fittings?
No. The Plustool listing names heat shrink connectors in AWG 26 to 10 and wire terminal use. It does not name PEX or copper fittings.
Which tool covers the largest wire gauge?
The iCRIMP ratchet set reaches AWG 2, the heaviest gauge in the set. The Plustool reaches the finer AWG 26 end, which the iCRIMP set does not state.
Which kits include a cutter?
The PEX cinch kit includes a PEX cutter, the air hose kit includes a cutter, the copper press tool includes a precision cutter, and the ratchet set includes a wire cutter and stripper. The copper ring kit does not state a cutter.
Are clamps included with the PEX kit?
Yes. The listing names 20 clamps at 1/2 inch and 10 clamps at 3/4 inch, which matches the 32-item count in its specs field.
Do the copper press and copper ring tools need an electric drive?
Neither listing requires one. Both state that the tool adapts to a manual wrench as well as an electric socket.
Conclusion
The iCRIMP range covers PEX, copper rings, copper press, hose ferrules and wire terminals, while the Plustool listing covers only heat shrink wire terminals. The comparison favors whichever tool matches the fitting or wire size in your job. Confirm any conflicting size field on the product page before ordering, and read the standard the listing names.
Related guides
For wire-tool guides that sit close to this comparison, see Best Wiring Tester, Best Wire Tester Pen and Best Live Wire Tester.