Non-Contact Voltage Testers Compared: 4 Picks
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
NCVT is the usual shorthand for a non-contact voltage tester, a pen that signals AC voltage near a wire, outlet or switch without a metal probe touching the conductor. The keyword in this draft also carries a 2p marker, but none of the four listings below describes a two-pole mode or a two-pole model, so this comparison covers the non-contact pens only. Every fact comes from listing data checked on 2026-10-11. Where two fields in the same listing disagree, both values appear side by side so you can confirm them on the product page before buying.
Quick answer
Start with the lowest AC voltage you need to catch. The Neoteck B01JYCVU2Q and the MXCOIRTP MT01 both list 12 V as their lower limit, the Klein Tools NCVT1P lists 50 V, and the Fluke 1AC II lists 90 V in its main range. A pen whose floor sits at 50 V or 90 V will not be expected to alarm on a 24 V circuit, while the two 12 V pens cover it. If the lowest floor does not decide the purchase, the warranty fields can separate similar pens: the Fluke lists 2 years, the MXCOIRTP lists 1 year, and the Klein lists only “See Manufacturer Website”.
Comparison table
| Pen | Stated AC range | Power as listed | Warranty field | Listing checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Klein Tools NCVT1P | 50 to 1000V AC | 2 x AAA 1.5 Volt batteries included | See Manufacturer Website | 2026-10-11 |
| Fluke 1AC II | 90-1000V AC (a bullet also lists 200 V to 1000 V AC) | 2 AAA alkaline batteries included | 2 years | 2026-10-11 |
| Neoteck B01JYCVU2Q | 12-1000V AC | 2×1.5V AAA included | 18 Months | 2026-10-11 |
| MXCOIRTP MT01 | AC 12V/48V/70V-1000V | Battery powered; battery type not stated | 1 year warranty | 2026-10-11 |
How the four were chosen
The research file for this keyword holds 12 listings. Four describe a non-contact voltage pen, and those four are used here. The other eight are four multimeters (AstroAI, LJPXHHU, ZMIWNIED and TESMEN), three automotive test lights (WINAMOO, JASTIND and FEAOXYO), and one 0-3800V DC hi-pot tester (MULBRANTEX). ZMIWNIED and TESMEN have a non-contact function, but their titles identify them as multimeters, so they fit a multimeter comparison better than a pen comparison. No extra products were supplied for this keyword.
Klein Tools NCVT1P Voltage Tester
The title and the specification field both state a 50 to 1000V AC range, so this pen has the highest stated floor of the four. The listing describes non-contact detection in cables, cords, circuit breakers, lighting fixtures, switches, non-tamper-resistant outlets and wires. Its LED is listed to glow green when the tester is operational and to flash red with a beeping alert when voltage is detected. The listing also mentions an auto power-off function for battery saving and 6.6-foot (2 m) drop protection. The specification field lists Cat Iv 1000v. The item dimensions field states 5.5 x 0.72 x 1 inches, the item weight is 22.68 g, and the included components field lists instructions and two AAA 1.5 Volt batteries.
View the Klein Tools NCVT1P on Amazon
Fluke 1AC II VoltAlert Non-Contact Voltage Tester
The title gives a 90-1000V AC range, and a bullet adds a second detection setting of 200 V to 1000 V AC. The specification field repeats the 90 V AC to 1000 V AC figure, so the listing states two floors and the lower one belongs to the main setting. When voltage is detected, the tip glows red and a beeper sounds. The bullets add an audible/silent mode and a continuous self-test. The title says the pen carries a CAT IV rating. The item dimensions field reads 10.24 x 7.5 x 1.46 inches, while the title calls the tester pocket-sized. The listing does not say whether that field describes the pen or its packaging, so confirm the size before assuming it fits a shirt pocket. The item weight is 59 g, two AAA alkaline batteries are included, and the warranty field states 2 years.
View the Fluke 1AC II on Amazon
Neoteck B01JYCVU2Q Non Contact Voltage Detector
The title and the first bullet give a 12-1000V AC range. The bullets say the pen separates live and null wires through alarm sound levels and LED indication, and that the LED stays lit for as long as voltage is detected. The listing also says the pen works as an emergency flashlight. One bullet states a CE, CAT III 600V and RoHS certificate, while the specification field lists only CE. Both entries appear here because they do not match. The item weight is 65 g, the item dimensions read 6.3 x 0.79 x 0.79 inches, the warranty field states 18 Months, and two 1.5 V AAA batteries are included. The bullets also say the pen is not suitable for testing Christmas lights.
View the Neoteck B01JYCVU2Q on Amazon
MXCOIRTP MT01 Non-Contact Voltage Detector
The title lists three ranges, AC 12V/48V/70V-1000V, and the bullets describe three sensitivity modes. The pen starts in low sensitivity with one buzzer beep, and pressing S once enters medium sensitivity. The bullets also describe a detection light, a tail flashlight, a pen hook for a shirt pocket, and use for finding wire breakpoints. A battery note says the power indicator flashes when battery voltage falls below 2.5V. The listing states a 1 year warranty. It does not state an item weight, item dimensions or battery type, and the included components field names only the voltage tester.
View the MXCOIRTP MT01 on Amazon
Worked example: a 24 V circuit and a 120 V outlet
Take a 24 V AC circuit first. The Klein NCVT1P’s stated range starts at 50 V, so 24 V falls below it. The Fluke’s main range starts at 90 V and its second setting at 200 V, so neither setting covers 24 V. The Neoteck starts at 12 V and the MXCOIRTP at 12 V, so both listed ranges include 24 V. Now take a 120 V outlet. It sits inside the Fluke’s 90 V to 1000 V main range, but below its 200 V to 1000 V second setting, so the listing numbers say the second setting would not register it. All four pens list a ceiling of at least 1000 V, which leaves the 120 V case limited only by the floor.
What the listings do not say
None of the four listings gives an alarm threshold in volts. Each gives only the lower and upper limits of its stated range. None names a two-pole mode, so the 2p part of the keyword cannot be matched to a listing here. The Fluke’s dimension field conflicts with its pocket-sized title, and the Neoteck’s CAT III 600V bullet conflicts with its CE-only specification field. The MXCOIRTP listing omits weight, dimensions and battery type. Only the Klein lists an auto power-off function among these four.
Related reading
For a wider set of pens, see best NCV tester. For how a non-contact pen behaves near live and neutral wires, read how to use a non-contact voltage detector. If you also need a pen that locates wire breaks, see best wire tester pen.
Before you buy
Check the stated floor against the lowest voltage you expect to meet. Compare the warranty and included battery fields on the live product page, since the checked date is 2026-10-11. If one listing states two ranges, decide which setting you will use before you rely on it. Treat any field that conflicts with the title as an open question for the seller or the manual.
FAQ
Which of these pens detects the lowest AC voltage according to the listings?
The Neoteck B01JYCVU2Q and the MXCOIRTP MT01 both list 12 V as their lower limit. The Klein NCVT1P lists 50 V, and the Fluke 1AC II lists 90 V in its main range.
Does any of these listings describe a two-pole or 2P model?
No. None of the four listings describes a two-pole mode or model, so the 2p part of the keyword has no matching listing in this set.
Why are the Fluke’s size figures shown side by side?
The title calls the tester pocket-sized, but its item dimensions field reads 10.24 x 7.5 x 1.46 inches. The listing does not say whether that field describes the pen or the package.
Which batteries do these pens need?
The Klein lists two AAA 1.5 Volt batteries as included, the Fluke two AAA alkaline batteries, and the Neoteck two 1.5V AAA batteries. The MXCOIRTP listing does not name its battery type.
Should I rely on the listing data in this guide?
Confirm the range, certification and warranty on the current Amazon product page before ordering, because listing fields can change after the 2026-10-11 check.
Final notes
For a plain choice among these four, match the stated floor to the lowest voltage you expect, then use the warranty and included-battery fields as tie-breakers. The Klein and Fluke are the pens with the higher floors, so they suit higher-voltage checks, while the Neoteck and MXCOIRTP list the 12 V floor. Read the conflicting fields on each product page before relying on them.