Best Ideal Insulation Tester
As an Amazon Associate, this site earns from qualifying purchases made through the links below.
If you are looking for an Ideal insulation tester, the model that matches that name in our product list is the IDEAL 61-795 hand-held insulation tester. It applies 250 V, 500 V or 1000 V DC and reads insulation resistance up to 4000 MΩ. We also list three Hioki insulation testers as alternatives, because they are the other insulation testers in our product list. This guide explains what each listing states, where the facts come from, and what we could not confirm before you buy.
Quick answer
For an Ideal insulation tester, the IDEAL 61-795 is the model to check first. Its listing gives 250, 500 and 1000 V test settings and a CAT IV 600 V rating. Choose a Hioki model only if you need a different range, and confirm that range from the manufacturer before you buy.
How we chose
For a general primer on the test itself, see our guide to insulation resistance testers and our walkthrough on how to use a megger meter.
We started with every row in our product list that matched an insulation tester, megohmmeter or insulation resistance meter. Only one of those rows carries the Ideal brand, so the rest of this guide is a set of alternatives in the same category. We kept a pick only when its title names an insulation or megohm test function. We did not add meters that only mention a voltage range, and we did not add clamp meters or continuity testers.
For facts, we used only pages we opened. For the Ideal 61-795 we opened a retailer listing that quotes the test voltages, the insulation range, the safety category and the battery type. For background on what an insulation tester does and how the voltage categories work, we opened two reference articles. For the three Hioki models we could not open a manufacturer page or a full listing in this run, so their entries rely on the product titles only. We say so in each entry.
Prices are not included. Where a spec appears only in a listing title, we label it that way.
The picks
1. IDEAL 61-795 Hand-Held Insulation Tester (View on Amazon)
The Ideal 61-795 is the only Ideal-brand insulation tester in our product list. Its title states 250/500/1000 V test voltages. The retailer listing we opened adds the following: the test voltages are 250 V, 500 V and 1000 V; the insulation range goes up to 4000 MΩ; the safety rating is CAT IV 600 V; the meter runs on 6 AA batteries; and the listed size is 7.2 x 3.5 x 1.7 inches. The same listing says continuity testing has an audible alert. It does not state a continuity range, so we do not give one.
The CAT IV rating matters because the IEC 61010-1 categories describe where a meter can safely be used. Category IV covers locations with very high fault current, such as the supply service entrance. A CAT IV 600 V rating therefore describes the meter’s protection level for those locations, not the highest voltage it will measure in insulation mode. The 1000 V setting is the top test voltage for this meter.
2. HIOKI Insulation Tester IR4057-50 (View on Amazon)
The title identifies this as a Hioki insulation tester in the insulation resistance meter category. We did not open a manufacturer page or a full listing for this model in this run, so we cannot state its test voltage, range or safety rating. Check the model’s datasheet before you rely on any figure for it. It is a candidate only because its title names insulation testing.
3. HIOKI HIGH Voltage Insulation Tester IR5051 (View on Amazon)
The title describes a high-voltage insulation tester. Compared with the 1000 V ceiling of the Ideal 61-795, a high-voltage model is the kind of tool you would look at for work above that range. The title is the only source we could read for this model, so its voltage range is unverified here. The reference article on megohmmeters we opened says that general-purpose units supply DC test voltages commonly between 500 V and 5 kV, with some reaching 15 kV. That is a general statement about the category, not a spec for this model.
4. HIOKI Insulation Tester IR4053 (View on Amazon)
The IR4053 is the third Hioki insulation tester in our list. Its title names it as an insulation tester. We did not open a listing or manual for it in this run, so every spec for it is unverified. It is included so that a buyer who wants a Hioki alternative to the Ideal 61-795 has one listed model to compare against.
What the Ideal 61-795 listing states
The retailer listing we opened is a secondary source, so treat its figures as the listing’s claims. The figures it gives are the test voltages (250, 500 and 1000 V), the insulation range (up to 4000 MΩ), the CAT IV 600 V rating, 6 AA batteries, and the dimensions. It does not give a test current, a discharge time, an accuracy percentage for the insulation range, or a warranty term. Those are the figures a careful buyer would check against the manufacturer’s sheet.
The 1000 V test voltage is the most important number for insulation work. Background material we opened describes insulation resistance tests as measuring how much current leaks through an insulator when a high DC voltage is applied. A higher test voltage stresses the insulation more, which is why the voltage used should suit the equipment under test. For low-voltage wiring and small motors, a 500 V or 1000 V setting is a common choice. For high-voltage cable work, the 61-795 is not designed to reach the 5 kV end of the range that the reference describes for general megohmmeters.
What we could not verify
- The continuity and resistance range of the Ideal 61-795. The listing says continuity has an audible alert, but it gives no range.
- The official Ideal manufacturer sheet. Our attempt to open the manufacturer’s product page returned a 404 error, and the datasheet PDF we found could not be read as text.
- Every spec for the three Hioki models beyond what their titles say. We did not open a source for them.
- Accuracy, response time and discharge behavior for any of the four models.
- The warranty term. The listing we opened does not state one, and we did not find a manufacturer warranty page we could read.
- Whether the Ideal 61-795 meets any particular insulation test standard. The listing we opened does not name one.
Buying checklist
Before you choose between these four models, work through a short list. First, decide the highest test voltage your job needs. If it is 1000 V or below, the Ideal 61-795 covers the range its listing describes. If it is well above 1000 V, a high-voltage model is the better starting point, and you should confirm its range from the manufacturer first. Second, check the safety category against where you will use the meter. A CAT IV rating suits service-entrance work, but the category must match the actual location, not just the highest number on the box. Third, confirm the power source. The Ideal 61-795 takes 6 AA batteries according to its listing, so spare cells belong in your kit. Fourth, decide whether you need a continuity function. The Ideal listing says it has an audible continuity alert, but it gives no range, so test a known good wire before relying on it.
Finally, read the manufacturer’s manual before the first test. Insulation testing applies a high voltage to the equipment, and the procedure for discharging the circuit after a test is part of the safe use of the meter. The reference we opened on megohmmeters describes the test as a high-voltage DC application, which is reason enough to follow the instructions closely.
FAQ
Is the Ideal 61-795 the only Ideal insulation tester in this list?
Yes. It is the only row in our product list with the Ideal brand and an insulation tester title. The other three picks are Hioki models, included as alternatives in the same category.
What test voltages does the Ideal 61-795 offer?
The retailer listing we opened gives 250 V, 500 V and 1000 V. The insulation range it quotes goes up to 4000 MΩ.
Is a 1000 V insulation tester enough for high-voltage cable work?
It depends on the cable and the test standard. The 61-795 tops out at 1000 V. The reference we opened describes general megohmmeters that reach 5 kV or higher. If your job calls for a higher test voltage, look at a high-voltage model such as the Hioki IR5051 and check its datasheet before buying.
What does CAT IV 600 V mean on the Ideal 61-795?
CAT IV is an IEC 61010-1 measurement category for locations with very high fault current, such as the supply service entrance. The 600 V figure is the rating that goes with it. It describes how the meter protects the user at that location. It does not describe the insulation test voltage.
Can I rely on the Hioki model specs in this guide?
No. For the three Hioki models we list only what their titles say. Check the manufacturer datasheet for test voltage, range and safety rating before buying.
Sources
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Megohmmeter (opened 2026-10-29)
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multimeter (opened 2026-10-29)
- https://shipuniverse.com/tools/ideal-electrical-61-795-hand-held-insulation-tester-for-marine-and-industrial-use/ (opened 2026-10-29)






